Our Union

San Diego APWU Local 197


The San Diego APWU Local 197 is proud to represent the Clerk, Maintenance, and MVS Crafts.

The APWU fights for your Wages, Retirement, Sunday Premium, Night Differential, Cost of Living Adjustment, No Layoffs, Overtime, Annual Leave, Sick Leave and Holidays. The strength of this Union is in its members. Please sign up a non-member and make the APWU and the San Diego CA Area Local become even stronger. All comments and suggestions are welcome.

The San Diego Area Local represents more than 1,400 USPS employees and retirees.

For more than four decades, APWU has fought for dignity and respect on the job for the workers we represent, as well as for decent pay and benefits and safe working conditions. As an AFL-CIO affiliate, the APWU supports the struggle for social and economic justice for all working families.

Depending on their occupation, APWU members belong to the Clerk, Maintenance or Motor Vehicle Service (MVS).

Our union is a democratic organization comprised of dues-paying members governed by a local Constitution & By-Laws. The Executive Board officers are elected by our union members. We rely on the National APWU to negotiate wages, benefits and working conditions across the nation and the San Diego Area Local negotiates the Local Memorandums of Understanding that regulate local working conditions and leave provisions.

The San Diego Area Local is headquartered in San Diego, California
To Contact the union, write to the address below, call us at 619-283-5600 or use the contact form here:

San Diego Area Local 197
3737 Camino del Rio S. #200
San Diego, CA 92108

Full-time officers and staff located at local Headquarters can be reached at 619-283-5600

Meet Our Members

Executive Board

Eddie B. Cooper Jr
Bob Waterhouse
Executive Vice President
Sonia Moreno
Secretary Treasurer
Gwen Wills
Recording Secretary
Joanne Holiday
Clerk Craft Director

Maria DeJesus
Assistant Clerk Craft Director
Russ Seibert
Maintenance Craft Director
Jonathan Peña
Assistant Maintenance Craft Director
Ed Knipe
Motor Vehicle Craft Director
Don Thomas
Assistant Motor Vehicle Craft Director
Gordy Meier

Ishmael Pepe Gomez

Maria Valencia

Rudy Espinoza